190th Annual Exhibition Award Winners

The RHA is delighted to announce that artists’ awards contributing to a generous prize fund of over €52,500 have been awarded to artists exhibiting in the 190th RHA Annual Exhibition.

The Academy remains indebted to the many generous sponsors who make this prize fund possible.

The value of financial awards such as the RCSI Art Award in association with The Irish Times of €5,000 prize and €10,000 commission and the The Ireland – U.S. Council & Irish Arts Review Portrait Prize of €5,000, is ever more significant to artists in these current times. The continued support of our sponsors is greatly appreciated by both the RHA and recipient artists.

The Awards

RCSI Art Award in association with The Irish Times - €15,000 (€5,000 prize & €10,000 commission)

Shortlisted artists: Dominique Crowley, Cecilia Danell, Colin Martin RHA, John Rainey, Niamh Smith
The recipient will be announced December 2020.

The Ireland – U.S. Council and Irish Arts Review Portraiture Award - €5,000
Awarded to Darragh O’Connell for Mick

The Progressive Vision Curtin O’Donoghue Photography Award
Awarded to Sean Breithaupt for Wasted 2

The Progressive Vision Curtin O’Donoghue Emerging Photographic Award
Awarded to thread stories for Falsehoods

The Adam’s Award
Awarded to Simon English for Early Evening by the Sea

The De Veres Art Award – for a Work of Distinction
Awarded to Hugh Frazer for Grand Canal Dock

The ESB Keating Award and Silver Medal for an Outstanding Art Work
Awarded to Cecilia Danell for In the Birch Plantation

The K + M Evans Painting Award
Awarded to Jane Rainey for Icy Moon

The Whyte’s Award
Awarded to Leah Hewson for Oscillate 33

The ESB Moran Award for Outstanding Sculpture
Awarded to Eilís O’Connell RHA for Corolis

The Friends of the RHA Award for a Senior Artist
Awarded to Fergus A. Ryan for Rain on the Wind

The Alex Bradley Award for a Mid-Career Artist in any Medium
Awarded to Colin Martin RHA for Model City (Blade Runner)

Contemporary Irish Arts Society Award for a Work of Distinction
Awarded to Joseph Heffernan for The Fool

The Graphic Studio Dublin - Wilkinson Award Sponsored by Behaviour and Attitudes
Awarded to Yoko Akino for In an unknown and secret corner of the sky it floated…

The Solomon Fine Art Award for Sculpture in any Medium
Awarded to Vera Klute ARHA for Shopper #1 (Emporio Armani tracksuit)

The Morgan O’Driscoll Sculpture Award
Awarded to John Rainey for The Deflatables

The Don Niccolo d’Ardia Caracciolo Award and Medal
Awarded to Joanne McAndrew for Fruit and nuts

The Hanley Energy Sustainability Excellence Award for a Landscape of Distinction
Awarded to Blaise Smith RHA for Alternate Reality


RHA Gold Medal Awarded to Patrick Shaffrey

The RHA has awarded a Gold Medal since 1994 to persons who have made significant contributions to the Academy in particular and to the arts in Ireland in general. A citation is given by either the President or a guest and the medal which features a profile of the Academy's second President, Francis Johnston is given to the recipient. Previous recipients include: Sir Alfred Beit, Lewis and Loretta Glucksman and Grafton Architects.

"Patrick Shaffrey is renowned for a life-times work in the related fields of architectural conservation; an achievement widely acknowledged by the multiple distinctions awarded. Patrick’s outstanding achievement has been his insistence on the integration of conservation awareness into the everyday vocabulary of architecture - something which had been previously regarded as the esoteric and specialist. The ground breaking and beautiful publications by Patrick and his late wife, Maura, on Irish towns and townscape opened the eyes of a generation to the enduring virtues and beauty of our vernacular.

- Des McMahon PPRHA, November 2020.

Your product has been successfully added to your Cart. View Cart HERE

Skip to content