192nd RHA Annual Exhibition 2022 Award Winners 

The 192nd RHA Annual Exhibition 2022 is Ireland's largest and longest running exhibition of visual art. This year, the RHA saw a total of 4038 works of art submitted from which, following a rigorous two rounds of selection, 567 works, including members and those invited, are currently exhibited throughout all gallery spaces.

Over €70,000 in prizes were awarded to emerging, mid-career and senior artists, across mediums including painting, photography, sculpture and architecture. RHA President, Dr Abigail O'Brien, said that in this year:

" We are fortunate to witness a selection of varied and unique voices speaking out the truth of their creators. I call on us all to take the front seat - to continue to make work without the security of a consensus or societal approval."

Prize Winners 2022:

RCSI Art Award in association with The Irish Times: Colin Davidson, Taffina Flood, Andrea Kavanagh, Laurence O’Toole and John Rainey.

The Ireland – US Council and Irish Arts Review Portraiture Award: Aches This Dream And You by Donal Maguire.

The Anita Young Bursary for a Mid-Career Painter in Association with the Tyrone Guthrie Centre and the RHA: Vera Klute.

The James O’Nolan Graduate Award: Museum Café by Dominique Crowley.

The Solomon Fine Art Award for Sculpture (in any medium): Dazzled Venus by John Rainey.

The Progressive Vision Curtin O’Donoghue Photography Prize: The Heart Of A Tree (1) by Clare Langan.

The Progressive Vision Curtin O’Donoghue Emerging Photographic Award: Horse And Cloud by Sarah Doyle.

The Morgan O’Driscoll Sculpture Award: Van Gogh I by John Behan RHA.

The Adam’s Award: Vigil/Protest (London/2021. Version 2. Side View) 2022 by Joy Gerrard.

The De Veres Art Award for a Work of Distinction: Haircut, (no.12) by Zsolt Basti.

The ESB Keating Award and Silver Medal for an Outstanding Artwork: Fire Escape by Aidan Crotty.

The K & M Evans Painting Prize: Drive Thru by Ciara Roche.

The Whyte’s Award: Mantas Poderys Family At The table by Daly MacGabhanns.

The ESB Moran Award for Outstanding Sculpture: Inner Sphere by Andrea Kavanagh.

The Friends of the RHA Award for a Senior Artist: I Love You To The Moon And Back by Myra Jago.

The Alex Bradley Award for a Mid-Career Artist (in any medium): Needlework Woman’s Account of Hours by Gerri O’Brien.

Contemporary Irish Art Society Award for a Work of Distinction by an Emerging Artist: Spellbound by Alana Barton.

The Graphic Studio Dublin Wilkinson Award - sponsored by Behaviour and Attitudes: Cadence 3 by Kate McDonagh.

The Don Niccolo d’Ardia Caracciolo Award: Mantas Poderys Family At The Table by Daly MacGabhanns.

The Hanley Sustainability Energy Excellence Award for a “Landscape of distinction”: Edging On Chaos by Taffina Flood.

Hennessey Craig Award incorporating the Homan Potterton Prize shortlist: Are you aware of the Electric Universe? by Tadhg O Cuirrin; Transat with Minnette by Niamh Porter; At the Party by Chanelle Walshe; Doirteal le Freud by Fiach McGuinne and Where goes Amelia? by Isobel Mahon


Clockwise from top: Andrea Kavanagh and Ann Nolan; Gerard Crowley and Aidan Crotty; James O'Halloran, Abigail O'Brien PRHA and Joy Gerrard ARHA; Abigail O'Brien PRHA and Mantas Poderys



Your product has been successfully added to your Cart. View Cart HERE