181st Annual Exhibition

RHA Annual

25 May, 2011 - 30 Jul, 2011

The President of the Academy, Des McMahon PRHA and Academy Members are delighted to welcome Jimmy Deenihan TD, Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht who will officially open the 181st RHA Annual exhibition, on Tuesday 24 May.
Now in its 181st year, the RHA Annual exhibition returns once again with a record 585 artworks on show at the RHA Gallery, this Summer.
The RHA Annual exhibition is the longest running and largest open submission exhibition in the country. Academy Members, invited artists and works selected through an open submission process are exhibited together giving the visitor and discerning art collector an unparalleled opportunity to view work by some of Ireland’s most-established and promising artists.
Painting, sculpture, print, photography and architectural models are viewed side by side. This year the Annual Exhibition will include works by Mick O’Dea RHA, Liam Belton RHA, Pauline Bewick RHA, David Crone RHA, Stephen McKenna PPRHA, Martin Gale RHA, Carey Clarke PPRHA, Eilis O’Connell RHA, Alice Maher ARHA, James Hanley RHA, Vivienne Roche RHA, Andrew Folan RHA, Richard Gorman RHA, Amelia Stein RHA and Carolyn Mulholland RHA. Invited arists include Amanda Coogan, Stephen Brandes, Oliver Comerford, John Devlin, Mary Kelly, Bea McMahon, John Minahan, Geraldine O’Reilly, Jennifer Trouton, Cristina Bunello, Joe Butler, Comhghall Casey, Leo Higgins and Gillian Lawlor.
The Annual exhibition also offers one of the largest prize funds associated with an exhibition in Ireland. This year a total prize fund of over €52,000 is distributed over 17 individual awards, the most noteworthy being the Hennessy Craig Scholarship of €10,000 awarded to a painter under the age of 35, the Curtin O’Donoghue Photography prize of €5,000, the Ireland-US Council and Irish Arts Review Portraiture Award of €5,000, the AXA Insurance Prize for Drawing, €5,000, the RHA Conor Fallon Sculpture Award sponsored by Gormleys Fine Art €3,000, the Keating/McLaughlin Award for Outstanding Artwork: a Silver medal and a cash prize of €3,000 awarded by the ESB, the Connor/Moran Award for Outstanding Sculpture: a silver medal and cash prize of €3,000 awarded by the ESB.
The exhibition opens with a series of events:
1 – 2pm, Prize Giving Ceremony
Artists and guests, Benefactors and Corporate Supporters, by invitation only.
2 – 5pm, Varnishing Day
Preview for artists, Academy Members and Friends of the RHA, by invitation only.
6 – 8pm, Grand Opening
The exhibition will be opened by Jimmy Deenihan TD Minister for Arts, Heritage and
the Gaeltacht.
ADMISSION IS FREE and the exhibition is supported by a full colour catalogue, costing €20, available at reception and in the RHA bookshop.

Selection of images from the exhibition

Stephen Brandes, Proposals for Improbable Monuments II (Welcome), Acrylic, coloured pencil on linen, 137 x 122cm, Image courtesy of the artist
  • Date:

    25 May, 2011 - 30 Jul, 2011
  • Time:

    Monday – Sunday: 11:00 – 17:00 Wednesday Late Opening: 11.00 – 20.00
  • Price:

  • Info:

Your product has been successfully added to your Cart. View Cart HERE

Skip to content