182nd Annual Exhibition

RHA Annual

29 May, 2012 - 18 Aug, 2012

“Welcome to our 182nd Annual Exhibition, the most ambitious public event in the Academy’s calender. The highlights of the RHA’s ever-growing cultural significance is reflected in our exhibition programme and the Academy’s dual aspiration of promoting tradition and innovation is reflected in the painting, sculpture, print, photography and architectural contents of this exhibition”.
Des McMahon, RHA President.
The longest running open submission exhibition in the country, the RHA 182nd Annual exhibition opens this May and for the first time the Academy is extending the run of the exhibition through to 18 August.
With over half the works, exhibited, selected through an open submission process, this exhibition offers an unparalleled chance to view work by emerging artists hanging side by side with established artists and RHA Members. The majority of work, on exhibit, will be for sale and is an excellent opportunity for discerning collectors. This year the Annual Exhibition will include work by Alice Maher RHA, Mick O’Dea RHA, Imogen Stuart RHA, Liam Belton RHA, Stephen McKenna PPRHA, Una Sealy ARHA, Pauline Bewick RHA, Carey Clarke PPRHA, Martin Gale RHA, Michael Quane RHA, Richard Gorman RHA, James Hanley RHA, Amelia Stein RHA, Eilis O’Connell RHA, Thomas Brezing, Alan Butler, Eileen Cooper RA and Shelia Rennick, among many others.
There are to date 16 artists’ prizes contributing to a prize fund of over €50,000 and the Academy remains indebted to the many generous sponsors who make this prize fund possible.
Prizes this year include the Hennessy Craig Scholarship of €10,000 awarded to a painter under the age of 35, The Ireland – US Council and Irish Arts Review Portraiture Award of €5,000, The Curtin O’Donoghue Photography Prize of €5,000, the AXA Insurance Prize for Drawing of €5,000, the RHA Conor Fallon Sculpture Award sponsored by Gormleys Fine Art of €3,000, the Keating/McLaughlin Award for Outstanding Art Work: A Silver Medal and a cash prize of €3,000 awarded by the ESB, the Connor/Moran Award for Outstanding Sculpture: A Silver Medal and cash prize of €3,000 awarded by the ESB, and for the first time the Gerry Torsney Prize for Portraiture in any Medium – €2,000 and there will be an award of €1,500 for a Senior artist. This year, we greatly look forward to enjoying The Sea Sharps perform on Varnishing day, a treat not to be missed!

A selection of images from the exhibition

Abigail O’Brien RHA, Arctic Hysteria, 2012, Lambda print under acrylic, 1120 x 1500 cm, Edition 1 of 3, Image courtesy of the artist.
  • Date:

    29 May, 2012 - 18 Aug, 2012
  • Time:

    Monday – Sunday: 11:00 – 17:00 Wednesday Late Opening: 11.00 – 20.00
  • Price:

  • Info:

Your product has been successfully added to your Cart. View Cart HERE

Skip to content